HomeSpring Trip InformationMr. P's NotesCalendarPictures and ArchivesGHS Orchestra Boosters

082906-banner.gif

Last update:08/25/2014

Garland High School Orchestras Concert and Activity Calendar 2014-2015

NOTE TO STUDENTS AND PARENTS:
Concerts are an important part of the grading and evaluation process. Dates are set early in the year in order to arrange for long-range planning and thus avoid conflicts. If a conflict does arise, a parental conference prior to the activity is required to avoid any penalty. In the event of an extreme emergency where a student misses an activity, a parental conference is still required to avoid a penalty. The director will consider each such situation on a case-by-case basis and determine whether a true emergency existed. The director's decision of what constitutes an extreme emergency is final. No written letters will be accepted to excuse a student from a concert activity at any time. Please remember that each concert is vital to the student's musical development and that each student is vital to the success of the concert.

There may be other events scheduled for the Orchestras as invitations to perform are sometimes received during the year. Any additional events will be announced as soon as possible. Any changes in this schedule will be announced and posted as soon as possible.

 

Friday, August 29, 2014 – GHS ORCHESTRA BACK TO SCHOOL SOCIAL – GHS Orchestra Hall 2:30 PM

Saturday, October 11, 2014 – REGION ORCHESTRA AUDITIONS – at Richardson HS

**Tuesday, October 21, 2014 – FALL CONCERT – GHS Auditorium – 7:30 PM

Saturday, October 25, 2014 – ALL-STATE TAPING AUDITIONS – at Rockwall Heath HS

*Monday, October 27, 2014– GISD FALL STRINGFEST (HONORS ORCHESTRA ONLY) – Curtis Culwell Center – 7:00 PM

*Monday, November 3, 2014 – HONORS ORCHESTRA FULL REHEARSALS begin – 3:00 PM

**Tuesday, December 2, 2014 – WINTER CONCERT – GHS Auditorium – 7:30 PM

*Friday, December 5, 2014 – HOLIDAY GALA ASSEMBLY (HONORS ORCHESTRA ONLY)

Friday/Saturday, December 12 - 13, 2014 – REGION ORCHESTRA CLINIC/CONCERT – at Richardson HS

Saturday, February 7, 2015 – UIL SOLO & ENSEMBLE CONTEST – at North Garland HS

**Tuesday, February 10, 2015 – PRE-UIL CONCERT – GHS Auditorium – 7:30 PM

Monday, February 23, 2015 – GISD MIDDLE SCHOOL PRE- UIL CONTEST – GHS 5:00 PM

**Thursday, February 26 through Friday, February 27, 2015 – UIL CONCERT & SIGHTREADING CONTEST – at Rockwall Heath HS

Wednesday, April 22 through Sunday April 26, 2015 - GHS ORCHESTRA SPRING TRIP to SOUTH PADRE ISLAND

**Friday, May 15, 2015 – SPRING CONCERT AND BANQUET – GHS Auditorium 6:00 PM

Saturday, May 23, 2015 - Texas State Solo and Ensemble Contest - Austin, Texas

*Required for Honors Orchestra

** Required for both Orchestras